Charles Darwin University (CDU)

Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

This provider is accredited to deliver courses to international students, (CRICOS code 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW))

Entry requirements for Charles Darwin University (CDU)

The minimum admission requirements to most undergraduate courses are met by one or more of the following:par -Successful completion of the Northern Territory Certificate of Education and Training (NTCET) (or equivalent) and an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) of 60 or higher or at the required level approved for admission. par -Successful completion of a national qualification at Certificate IV level or higher.par -Successful completion of at least 0.5 year of full-time study (or equivalent) of a higher education degree/diploma.par -Overseas secondary or tertiary qualifications considered equivalent to the above Australian qualifications.par -Attainment of a STAT score at the required level approved for admission.par -Successful completion of 40 credit points in the Tertiary Enabling Program, the ACIKE Preparation for Tertiary Success courses, or other recognised tertiary preparation course.par -Submission of an acceptable personal competencies statement and/or employment experience.par Some courses have a quota and offers for admission into these courses will be based on merit.

Transfering your previous study credits

VET TO HIGHER EDUCATIONpar Agreed Credit Transfer arrangements exist for students who have completed an appropriate VET qualification and wish to enter a higher education course.

HIGHER EDUCATION TO HIGHER EDUCATIONpar - For incomplete study at CDU: The University will grant full credit for higher education units completed at CDU within the past five years. If professional practice and personal development has been undertaken within the field this period could be extended to ten years. par - For any study undertaken at another institution, or for completed study at CDU: A student must complete at least one third of the award, or at least one year full-time equivalent, whichever is the lesser, provided that the relevant course rules are met. Students from other institutions are required to provide certified copies of their academic records and complete an Application for Exemption form with their enrolment form.

External study opportunities

The University offers a broad range of external courses.

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this institution