Diploma of Yolngu Studies

Charles Darwin University (CDU)

The core units of this course provide basic grounding in the sounds of the languages, the grammar and basic vocabulary of Yolngu languages. Students will further develop their skills analysis and discussion of Yolngu narratives, both oral and written, in Yolngu languages as well as an understanding of the variety of ways in which ethical behaviour and protocols govern the interactions with people and the ways in which knowledge is used and shared.

Entry Requirements:

NTCET or equivalent (Year 12) and an ATAR of 60 or higher; or Certificate IV or above; or STAT score of 135 or greater; or submission of an acceptable personal competencies statement and/or employment experience; or 6 months of full-time study (or equivalent) of a higher education degree/diploma; or completion of 40 credit points in the Preparation for Tertiary Study Program (ZTEP01), the Preparation for Tertiary Success (ZPTS11 or ZPTS21), or other recognised tertiary preparation course.


The course requires the successful completion of 80 credit points of study. The core units of this course provide basic grounding in the sounds of the languages, the grammar and basic vocabulary of Yolngu languages.

Subjects you can Study:

Yolngu studies

Further information:

Applicants that do not meet the University's minimum entry requirements but are native speakers of a Yolngu language and are recognised by the Yolngu advisors to the school as having basic literacy skills or experience in research or education; or applicants in regular contact with Yolngu and who can demonstrate sound knowledge of culture and language proficiency, will also be considered for entry into the course.

Campus ATAR/OP Adjusted Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Casuarina No info Yes Full time 1 year
Casuarina No info Yes Part time 2 years
Casuarina No info Yes Online
Charles Darwin University is the major tertiary education and vocational education and training institution in the Northern Territory.

Originally established as a tertiary institution in 1974, it became the Northern Territory University in 1989 and Charles Darwin University in 2003.

The main University campus is located at Casuarina in Darwin with campuses at Alice Springs, Katherine and Palmerston. VET courses are also offered at Jabiru, Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek and Yulara Centres as well as at various remote community centres.

The University provides multi-sector education with Senior Secondary, VET, Higher Education and Research facilities.

CDU also deliver a number of courses through the Australian Centre for Indigenous Knowledges and Education (ACIKE), which is a joint initiative between Charles Darwin University (CDU) and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). The three main sites for delivery will be at the main ACIKE Hub CDU Casuarina campus and at the BIITE campuses at Batchelor and the Alice Springs Desert Peoples' Centre.

Provider CRICOS: 00300K (NT); 03286A (NSW)

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses