Bachelor of Political Science

Australian National University (ANU)

The Bachelor of Political Science is the only dedicated Political Science degree in Australia. The ANU has some of the world's finest political scientists, and was the only Australian university to receive a 5 ('well above world class') in both of the Excellence in Research for Australia's reports. Located in the national capital, the ANU is the only university with a right to place interns in Australian Parliament House. The Bachelor of Political Science will give students the knowledge, theoretical understandings, and practical skills that underpin a successful career that engages with politics.

Course Fee:

International: $123,840

Entry Requirements:

ATAR: 90 QLD Band: 6 International Baccalaureate: 34; Year 12 or equivalent; there may be prerequisites or levels of assumed knowledge for individual subjects particularly science and language subjects


144 units including: Compulsory courses (24 units); choice of political theory and political philosophy courses (12 units); choice of methodology courses (12 units); choice of Australian politics courses (12 units); choice of comparative politics courses (12 units); further choices available covering area (geographical) studies, political economy or an internship or Vice-Chancellor's courses (6-24 units). 48 units of free electives from the ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences or any other College.

Subjects you can Study:

Australian politics; Comparative politics; Politics; Political economy; Political philosophy; Political theory

Study Pathways:

Credit may be granted for equivalent studies as appropriate at other universities.

Further information:

Internships may be available to students under the Australian National Internships Program. This program can also be incorporated into a double degree through the Flexible Double - Arts, Social Sciences group or Flexible Double - Law group. This program can also be incorporated into a Flexible Vertical Double Degree - Postgraduate business, humanities and social sciences group and Postgraduate law group.

Accepts International Students:


Provider CRICOS: 00120C

Campus ATAR/OP Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
Canberra 85.25 Yes Full time 3 years
Canberra 85.25 Yes Part time 6 years
ANU was set up in 1946 as the national research institution by the Australian Parliament to enhance the economic, social cultural and intellectual development of the nation. Part of the Group of Eight, ANU is recognised as one of Australia's leading universities for education and is the only Australian member of the International Alliance of Research Universities.

Students at ANU engage with leading minds and learn from world-class researchers, with six Nobel Prize winners and two Australian prime ministers among its staff and Alumni. With over 170 partner universities across 37 countries, students have the opportunity to make global connections by going on an exchange, undertaking an internship or participating in fieldwork.

ANU has a mix of undergraduate, postgraduate and research students, many of whom live in University residences. International students come mainly from Indonesia, China, Malaysia, Singapore and the USA, with significant numbers also coming from Europe, Hong Kong, the Philippines and Thailand.

The campus is located in the centre of the nation's capital, Canberra. Canberra is a university city and home to many national institutions. Offering a cosmopolitan lifestyle, the city has a high concentration of national museums and galleries, as well as cafes and restaurants. For the active, the capital is etched with bike paths and walking trails, and is surrounded by stunning Australian landscape. Facilities on campus include a wide range of student accommodation, modern laboratories and teaching facilities, five main libraries, medical services, sporting fields, gym, food vans and cafes.

The University provides specialised services to assist students, including a tailored orientation program, Counselling and Health Service, Academic Skills and Learning Centre, Disability Services and the Tjabal Indigenous Higher Education Centre. There are also many student clubs and societies for a diverse range of sporting, social and other interests.

Provider CRICOS: 00120C

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses