Bachelor of Education (Fourth Year Upgrade)

Australian Catholic University (ACU)

This course provides professional development for two or three-year trained teachers to upgrade their Diploma or Bachelor of Teaching qualifications to a Bachelor of Education. It builds upon students' previous studies in teacher education and is able to supplement their earlier study in ways which can meet employer requirements for a fourth year of teacher education as a pre-requisite in Australia for continuing accreditation/registration as a teacher. Further, the course aims to provide currency for teachers who have experienced lengthy periods of absence from the profession and who wish to re-enter it. Unit selection must be approved by the National Course Coordinator before commencement of studies to ensure that graduates will meet Teacher Accreditation Regulations. Students who have a three-year qualification complete the equivalent of one year full-time study.

Entry Requirements:

An applicant must also comply with the Admission to Coursework Programs Policy. To be eligible for admission to the course, an applicant must have completed a pre-service teacher education course and have demonstrated teaching experience.


80 to 120 credit points. Students who have not had recent teaching experience may choose to complete a professional experience unit (EDFX317).

Subjects you can Study:

Education-early childhood; Education-primary; Education-secondary

Study Pathways:

Bachelor Degree graduates may progress to Graduate/Post-Graduate Certificate or Master of Education programs.

Further information:

Graduates of this course will qualify for registration as a four year trained teacher within Australia.


Accreditation/registration as a four year trained teacher within Australia.

Campus ATAR/OP Adjusted Mid Year Intake Study Mode Duration
North Sydney (MacKillop) No info No Online 1.5 years
Australian Catholic University (ACU) commenced operation on 1 January 1991. The University has seven campuses in Adelaide, Ballarat, Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney (2 campuses) and teaches courses throughout Australia and overseas. The University was formed by the amalgamation of four Catholic institutions of higher education in eastern Australia, and is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee (Australian Catholic University Ltd).

ACU is a public university open to all, a Table A listed higher education provider under the Higher Education Support Act 2003, and a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, and the International Federation of Catholic Universities. The University is a member of Universities Australia (formerly the Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee).

The three foundation Faculties are Arts and Sciences, Education, and Health Sciences. The Faculty of Theology and Philosophy commenced operation on 1 January 2009 and the Faculty of Business commenced operation on 1 January 2010.

ACU graduates are high achievers and enjoy one of the best rates of employment in Australia. ACU students undertake work experience throughout their studies, with many students finding jobs using their professional skills even before they have graduated.

ACU's small friendly campuses, small class sizes (student to teacher ratio of 18.5:1), easy access to teaching staff and outstanding student support services allows students to achieve their full potential.

Provider CRICOS: 00004G

Is the information on this page correct? Request update

Request Information
Enquire about this course

Related courses